Events

The Culture of Creativity: Writing Workshop is a free virtual workshop series sponsored by the Critical Language Scholarship Alumni Society (CLSAS). The workshops are for Gilman and CLS Alumni and are intended to promote culturally sensitive and internationally informed creative writing.

Each workshop in the series (with the exception of the open mic night) will be approximately two hours in length and will include a panelist discussion, Q&A, writing exercises, and an optional time to share work and receive feedback. The virtual open mic night is open to all performances, readings, acts, etc., less than five minutes in length. We highly encourage any and all languages (English translation preferred, but not required)!

Creative Writing Workshop Schedule

Blogging
Sunday, April 11, 11:30am ET / 8:30am PT / 6:30pm Istanbul / 9:00pm IST

Creative Nonfiction
Friday, April 16, 9:00pm ET /  6:00pm PT // (next day) 6:30am IST

Poetry
Saturday, April 24, 11:30am ET / 8:30am PT / 6:30pm Istanbul / 9:00pm IST

Fiction
Sunday, April 25, 11:30am ET / 8:30am PT / 6:30pm Istanbul / 9:00pm IST

Open Mic
Friday, April 30, 9:00pm ET /  6:00pm PT // (next day) 4:00am Istanbul / 6:30am IST

Register here to attend

Past Events

Join APSIA for an introductory webinar on best practices when applying for graduate school. 

Date: March 16, 2021
Time: 1:00pm - 2:00pm EDT
Where: Online
Cost: This event is free.

Register
here

APSIA Webinar:
Best Practices in Applying to Graduate School
CLSAS MARCH MADNESS 2021  (2) (1).png
event4flyer.PNG
webseriestwo.JPG

CLSAS is offering 10 free tickets (admission + tasting) to this event. 

Saturday, Nov 23, 2019

16:30 to 20:00

Museum of Food & Drink (Brooklyn, NY) 

Learn more and RSVP HERE

Chow: Making the Chinese American Restaurant (NYC)

Polish your resume and come join us at our first Federal Government Recruitment Event! 

July 19 14:30-17:00

2301 L St. NW

Washington, D.C. 20037

Register here!

Federal Govt. Recruitment Event
igposthappyhour.png

37th Annual Conference on U.S. - Turkish Relations

When: April 14 - 16


Where: Trump Hotel, DC

Volunteer Here!

Volunteer Code: HR453Q

American-Turkish Conference
VOLUNTEERS NEEDED

CLS, Fulbright, and Gillman Potluck and Picnic.

Millenium Park, Chicago

5:00pm | August 24, 2018 

Click here to RSVP

Chicago
raceandstudyabroad.JPG
CLSAS Monthly Series .jpg

APSIA is hosting an online graduate school fair for those interested in international careers and graduate programs.

November 21 | 11:00am

 

Learn more and register here.

APSIA: Association of Professional Schools of International Affairs

Join us for our first ever conference!

Register Here!

CLSAS First Annual Conference
Revised flyer.jpg
CLS ADF Extended.jpg

General Chamber of Commerce

Oct 30 from 6:00-9:00pm

 

Where: National Press Club, Washington, D.C.

Click here to RSVP

Chinese-US Dialogue
Working with Mask

International Affairs and Public Policy Graduate School Fair
 

Date: September 30, 2020
Time: 11:00am - 1:30pm ET
Where: Online
Cost: This event is free.

Register
here

APSIA Graduate School Fair (Online)

Come grab food or coffee at the Corner Bakery Cafe on L Street and a portion of the proceeds will be donated to CLSAS! 

1828 L St. NW, Ste 101, Washington, DC

Saturday, November 16, 2019

09:00 to 14:00

More information HERE

CLSAS Food Fundraiser (DC)

The Cox-State Department Diplomacy Seminar is a fully funded, three-day professional exploration program to be held in Washington, D.C., October 2-5, 2019. 

Apply Here!

Dept. of State
Cox-State Dept. Diplomacy Seminar

CLS Alumni Society Regional Event

When: March 21, 2019


Where: Cages - 428 Jiangning Lu, Jing'an Sports Centre, 3/F, near Wuding Lu

Shanghai, China

CLS Alumni Society Happy Hour

When: August 17th 7-9PM


Where: Senator Saloon (98 Wuyuan Road near Wulumuqi)

Click here to RSVP

Shanghai, China
Kerry's webinar.png

CLS Alumni Society Happy Hour

 

When: August 9th 5:30-8PM

Where: Ousia (629 W 57th Street New York, NY 10019)

Click here to RSVP

NYC

CLS Alumni Society Gathering

 

Silver Pizza near UC Berkley at 4pm

No need to RSVP for this event, just stop on by!

We'd love to hear your ideas for CLSAS, so bring some questions and comments

Berkley, CA

CLS Alumni Society Happy Hour

 

Stay tuned for an event in Seattle, WA later this year.

RSVP Coming Soon!

Seattle

CLSAS is excited to host events all over the world! Anything from small get-togethers, annual regional events, dinner outings, and game nights to online webinars. If you have an idea or want to host or help plan an event, please contact us at info@clsas.org.


If you are an Alumni Ambassador and your event is not listed here, please let us know at info@clsas.org and we’ll add it!

Virtual Writing Workshops

IGETS Flyer.jpg

Upcoming Event